My Blog Categories Explained

WordPress has this great feature that lets you categorize your blog posts. I use it to organize posts based on their subject matter. I have a wide range of interests and things that I write about, and viewing categories lets me see which subject seem to dominate my writing.

The categories I have thus far are:

gadgetstuff: These posts are about computers, mobile phones, tablets and other nifty gizmos. I have a dedicated blog for my love affair with phones, so hopefully my curmudgeonly posts about them will not bleed over to here, but I make no promises.

gamerstuff: These are posts about video games, role-playing games, and tabletop games. They are also posts about gaming hardware, industry news that I have something to say about, and Penny-Arcade comics that I enjoy.

geekystuff: These are posts about sci-fi and fantasy books, movies, TV shows, and comics. I am a huge fan of The Lord Of The Rings, Harry Potter, Batman, Doctor Who, and The IT Crowd. I am also really into cartoons like The Simpsons, Archer, Rick and Morty, and The Boondocks.

hackerstuff: These are generally posts about computer hacking, crypto, programming, VOIP, open source software, and networking. It’s also where I talk about Hacker Culture and the history of hacking.

makerstuff: These are posts about DIY projects that I like, the Maker Movement, and the Internet Of Things. I will also occasionally post recipes and other things.

patriotstuff: I use this category to group together my rants on constitutional issues. I don’t really get into politics, or rather, I don’t care much for liberals and conservatives. There are issues on which I would be identified as conservative, such as limiting the reach of government and the importance of small businesses, and there are issues on which I would be identified as liberal, such as my issues with institutional racism and sexism. I am more concerned about issues that pertain to privacy, free speech, net neutrality, equal rights, and to a limited extent, the freedom of the press. When it comes to our mainstream media, I am more of a critic than a supporter.

piratestuff: These posts are generally about criticism of copyright, the media industry, my support of independent media, and the development of new sources of content. I am huge opponent of most American Intellectual Property laws. I am also a huge supporter of new media, streaming video, remix culture, and peer to peer technologies.

I will likely add more categories over time. I will also add tags to my posts when I think that they are relevant.

 

Leave a Reply

