The Drama With My New Laptop: the High Cost of Saving $350 (part 3)

This post contains a lot of profanity. Like a shitload.

When we last left our heroes, I had finally managed to encrypt my SSD, and after running clonezilla probably a hundred times to back up and restore the drive after fucking it up, I decided to try and simplify the backup process.

Part of the hassle was the fact that I had removed the optical drive and installed the original mechanical drive into that bay. This meant booting from an external DVD drive, or from a USB stick in order to do the backups. I was also using GParted a lot, which meant a second cd-rom disc or thumb drive. Thankfully I was using an i-Odd external hard drive to do this, but it still meant plugging something in so that I could copy files to an internal hard drive. Backing up has to be convenient or backups simply won’t happen.

My first thought was to install linux on an external drive. This would give me the option of using the drive on different computers. Maybe it’s possible, but I never got it to go. I wiped an external drive a couple of times. I used to use Sardu Linux, but it was not that reliable, and the project seldom kept pace with new versions of live CDs. Also the primary developer started putting spammy spyware in the installer at one point.

After a lot of formatting and re-partitioning, this time on my secondary clonezilla_logo_smallbackup drive, I decided to go with a simpler approach and just put the Clonezilla live install on a small partition on the backup drive. This hadn’t worked on my USB external drive, but I wanted to try it with the internal, based on this document. Basically I created an 800mb FAT32partition and extracted the zip to that partition. I used the rest of the disk for a large NTFS partition. I skipped all the GRUB stuff, and I just use the alternate boot menu to boot from the other drive when I want to do my backups. I then set the FAT32 partition to be hidden so it won’t show up in Windows. It would have been great to have a small Linux install for times when I am in a hurry and I don’t want to decrypt my Windows drive, but this will do fine for now.

holy shit! i got it working!

One thought on “The Drama With My New Laptop: the High Cost of Saving $350 (part 3)

Leave a Reply

